top of page
  • Writer's pictureSaad

A Moonlight Dance


Strokes of color, like patters, in the encroaching night

Light hues on canvas, full of vast uncanny sight

Across the field, stands brazen their gilded throne

An array of notions for a gaze set in stone

Yet our sabers, we wield, in this dance, with delight

Sealed, is this shift of perspective in the red, blue hues of twilight

A darker shade, of crimson and grey

Woven into my blood, sets the mood for center stage

I trace my thoughts across this sea of marbled space

Embarking on a pittance of my own measly glass mace

I tilt my weight, swinging; an accord of strings pluck seldom as I fall prey

To my own glass mace: my bane, my bravoure* in shame

My mind runs loose, on the silvered cusp of surrender

But realize, I do, my fault in streams of hasty splendor

I let go of fear, of doubt, of anguish

And drop my mace; the glass shattered, in a mist of solace and relegated dismay

My steps become lighter; bolder moves, thus, transpire

I move betwixt the shards, as a dark sky dawns on this spire


We meet with providence, yet unaware of our fate

The canvas glistens bright, a stark haven for all shades at play

As two radicals, we intertwine: distinct but rooted in our state

We`re streams gushing forth, flowing by each other; in this river dance, we sway

Part ways, we do, our rhythm a dynamic interplay

Our path becomes clear, as we bid farewell; our eyes blazing like the ground, on which, war, we waged

Joy comes to haunt me as I leave this canvas

From my first steps to my grand finish, I recall my euphoric meander

I smile, and look forward: my gaze piercing into my distant, uncertain future

As I revel under the night sky, I glance at the spire: a symbol of what was, of a past endeavor

And I look back to the same canvas

I look back to my first moonlight dance






I wrote this poem to encapsulate an experience I haven`t yet had, but something I look forward to playing out the way it does above. Hope you enjoyed it :)


*bravoure = French for bravery, or courage.

10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page